Beauty Restored

Have you ever endured a really long, dark season in your life? I’m guessing all of us have gone through seasons in our lives where it seems the sun is never shining and the nights are long and cold. Times when you are spent and weary from traveling the same dusty road that seems to be leading nowhere and can’t find water to soothe your scratchy soul. The wind is either blowing or the rain is falling. The winter snow has killed everything good and beautiful in your life. If you’ve been there, you know how hard it is to find the beauty in those seasons.

152d8cd56bce4c6075e749b6d8735a47

I definitely came off a beautiful season of spring in my life where everything was blooming and blossoming. I was enjoying life and discovering the beautiful self I was created to be. But, as all seasons must come to an end, that season slowly tapered into a hot summer and dying fall. And eventually, a cold, dark, barren winter season set into my life. If you look back at any of my posts from that time, you will definitely see the cries of anguish and desire to be filled with a beautiful light again. The calls for help for anyone to reach into my life and rescue me from the bitter winter land that had covered up almost every aspect of that time of spring. I felt alone and lost and no matter how much I tried to reach out to God and let Him fill me, I always felt like He was too far away and couldn’t reach into my frozen heart to thaw it and let it bloom again. Granted, I have had many dark or harsh seasons where my love for God was planted deeper in my soul and I felt I was closer to Him in those times than I had ever been before. But sometimes, your heart becomes too distant and cold to feel the warmth of His love, and you slowly drift further and further away into the barren winter land. Forgetting what spring felt like and feeling like you have to make this journey on your own. Trying to find your own way back to that spring land and bring that warmth back into your life.

The changing of winter into spring is a pretty incredible change and it is well worth the wait once you get there. And believe me, even when the season seems like it will never change, it will. Someday you will suddenly discover that the nights aren’t as long as they used to be. The darkness starts losing its power and begins to give way to the sun. The frozen ground begins to thaw and the melting snow begins to trickle slowly into the solid earth. The red-chested robin tweets a few notes of its song reminding you that spring is on its way. And all at once you see the little green sprouts of plants beginning to come to the surface from their wintery graves. And then you realize that the seeds were in the earth the entire winter, they just needed the gentle touch of the sun to bring them back to life again.

39e60827ceb8897bc231dc0481fcf6cf

That is how it feels when God slowly begins to tug and pull at your heart and starts to call forth the seeds that weren’t dying, but were merely sleeping for the winter season. He plays a song on the radio or places a verse on your heart that reminds you this winter season is not forever. Even if you can’t see it or feel it at the time, He will slowly begin to thaw the frozen ground of your heart and bring your weary soul back to Him if you let Him. When you lay down your winter barren land before Him, He will draw up the seeds of life that He has planted in you and create in you a new spring. All the things that were dead or sleeping will come back to life and blossom into gardens even more beautiful than before.

He is restoring you in these times of darkness and He is bringing about a rebirthing that will be so beautiful beyond all imagination. There are some who will choose to stay in the winter land and refuse to look toward a renewing, but I would encourage you to look to the spring and believe that He will get you through this. I feel I have been on the cusp of my next spring season these past few months and am well past the solstice of the wintery heart. My days are becoming longer than my nights and I am beginning a beautiful journey to a spring that will be more beautiful and breathtaking than any other spring before. My beauty is being restored and I pray you are being beautifully restored as well.

If you are in a season of darkness right now and you don’t feel like you are going to make it through, please, reach out to me. I’d love to pray for you or encourage you in any way I can. If you are in a season of spring and beauty, praise God and relish every moment as He is blessing you in this time! Let your beauty be restored.

0b0e87acb00ed569b9bae7c61d5597f9

Leave a Reply

